|
|
 |
Re: FN-FORUM Dodgy email ???
date posted 20th April 2001 18:15
Maybe they made a mistake. Or maybe someone got your card details and e-mail
address.
Nigell had his card details nicked from when he signed up for a surftime
type package and the card was used and used to the tune of about three
thousand pounds in the end - it was not his concern as it was dealt with by
the bank but still we get nice letters from various online betting
companies/Porno distributors in the USA demanding money that he owes - that
he never spent in the first place. The postal address was correct and the
last name but they made up the first which is just and initial on his card.
Around the same time we also had letters saying that the card number was not
quite right etc - no real conclusion just a thought.
Carla
--
http://www.naughtymutt.com
01728 621 052
Graphic and Web design
Free quotes, no jargon, customer service
on 20/4/01 4:39 pm, Darren Spink at [EMAIL REMOVED] wrote:
> The email from [EMAIL REMOVED] reads as follow....
>
>
> Dear Customer,
>
> Thankyou for your recent purchase of our product.
> Unfortunately, your order has been declined at this time by our credit card
> processor.
> The most likely cause for this is that you entered an incorrect or
> incomplete order form.
> As such please visit the following url and re-submit your order:
>
> http://www.evidence-eliminator.com/go.shtml?A653465
>
> Apologys for any inconvenience this may cause.
>
> Once again i would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your
> interest in our product.
>
> Best Regards,
>
> Tim Sturges,
> Customer Support.
>
> ******************************************************************
> Webmasters, why not join our affiliate program?
> for more information visit the following url:
>
> http://www.evidence-eliminator.com/link.shtml?A653465
>
> ******************************************************************
>
> NOTICE: you are receiving this message because you submitted an order to
> our server that was declined. This is a special announcement, and you will
> not receive any further scheduled emails on this topic excluding any product
> updates.
>
> ******************************************************************
> MESSAGE ENDS
>
> I would think that this is debatably legal....certainly a close call...The
> one amusing point I found (except the amazing double standard highlighted by
> Mike, is the company responsible for the software is called "Robin Hood
> Software", maybe "Dick Turpin Software" will be their next venture...
>
>
>
> Regards
>
>
> Darren Spink
> http://www.arkad.leeds.co.uk
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> [EMAIL REMOVED] Behalf Of Mike Adams
> Sent: 20 April 2001 13:59
> To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> Subject: RE: FN-FORUM Dodgy email ???
>
>
>> From thewebpros.co.uk site:
> "If, like us, you use email on a daily basis, you will have experience of
> "spam", the deluge of "directed" email that always misses the target, and
> marks the sender out as dubious. Unlike private users, however, we
> invariably read, or at least manually check, every one."
>
> mike
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> [EMAIL REMOVED] Behalf Of Darren Spink
> Sent: 20 April 2001 13:31
> To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> Subject: FN-FORUM Dodgy email ???
>
>
> I've just received 2 emails, 1 from [EMAIL REMOVED] the second
> from [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> The billing mail claims I have purchased a product of theirs and that the
> payment info has been declined. Strange though, I have purchased nothing
> they claim to sell. I think that this could be either just a
> junk/frightener email to get you to buy something.
>
> Has anyone else had this mail ?? I think the product they are selling is
> "Evidence Eliminator"
>
>
> Regards
>
>
> Darren Spink
> http://www.arkad.leeds.co.uk
>
>
>
>
> ============================================================
>
> * Free listing for freelancers
> * Free to advertise jobs
> * Free jobs distribution service
> * Free database of 1000 freelancers
>
> Freelancers and Freelance Jobs
> http://www.freelancers.net
>
> To post to the Forum:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To unsubscribe please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> If you have difficulties unsubscribing please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To subscribe to the digest for this list or for further information please
> visit:
> http://www.freelancers.net/forum.html
>
>
>
> ============================================================
>
> * Free listing for freelancers
> * Free to advertise jobs
> * Free jobs distribution service
> * Free database of 1000 freelancers
>
> Freelancers and Freelance Jobs
> http://www.freelancers.net
>
> To post to the Forum:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To unsubscribe please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> If you have difficulties unsubscribing please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To subscribe to the digest for this list or for further information please
> visit:
> http://www.freelancers.net/forum.html
>
>
>
>
> ============================================================
>
> * Free listing for freelancers
> * Free to advertise jobs
> * Free jobs distribution service
> * Free database of 1000 freelancers
>
> Freelancers and Freelance Jobs
> http://www.freelancers.net
>
> To post to the Forum:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To unsubscribe please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> If you have difficulties unsubscribing please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To subscribe to the digest for this list or for further information please
> visit:
> http://www.freelancers.net/forum.html
|
 |
|