|
|
 |
RE: FN-FORUM Pop up windows
date posted 6th July 2002 00:58
Hello there folks,
Just paste the folloing into your hosts file - on windows systems this
is in the %windowsroot%/system32/drivers/etc/hosts and I thing on 'nix
boxes /etc/hosts - this will redirect the most common culprits to your
own machine where they will get a 404 result.
You'll still get the popup but won't have your bandwidth eaten up
downloading crap. Omit the tags.
I've been adding to this for months now so it should be pretty up to
date.
127.0.0.1 a.tribalfusion.com
127.0.0.1 a3.suntimes.com
127.0.0.1 a4.g.akamai.net
127.0.0.1 a8.g.akamaitech.net
127.0.0.1 abcnews.footprint.net
127.0.0.1 actionflash.com
127.0.0.1 actionsplash.com
127.0.0.1 ad1.peel.com
127.0.0.1 ad2.peel.com
127.0.0.1 ad.adex3.flycast.com
127.0.0.1 ad.adsmart.net
127.0.0.1 ad.au.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.ca.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.espn.starwave.com
127.0.0.1 ad.fr.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.iwin.com
127.0.0.1 ad.linksynergy.com
127.0.0.1 ad.preferences.com
127.0.0.1 ad.uk.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 adcontent.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1 adcontroller.unicast.com
127.0.0.1 adcreative.tribuneinteractive.com
127.0.0.1 adfarm.mediaplex.com
127.0.0.1 adfu.blockstackers.com
127.0.0.1 adimages.go.com
127.0.0.1 adincl.gopher.com
127.0.0.1 adj16r1.thruport.com
127.0.0.1 adj18.thruport.com
127.0.0.1 adnet.chicago.tribune.com
127.0.0.1 adpepper.dk
127.0.0.1 ads.ad-flow.com
127.0.0.1 ads.admonitor.net
127.0.0.1 ads.adtegrity.net
127.0.0.1 ads.belointeractive.com
127.0.0.1 ads.bfast.com
127.0.0.1 ads.bluemountain.com
127.0.0.1 ads.canoe.ca
127.0.0.1 ads.cbc.ca
127.0.0.1 ads.clickthru.net
127.0.0.1 ads.economist.com
127.0.0.1 ads.enliven.com
127.0.0.1 ads.globeandmail.com
127.0.0.1 ads.guardian.co.uk
127.0.0.1 ads.guardianunlimited.co.uk
127.0.0.1 ads.icq.com
127.0.0.1 ads.indystar.com
127.0.0.1 ads.iol.co.il
127.0.0.1 ads.kleinman.com
127.0.0.1 ads.lycos.com
127.0.0.1 ads.mcafee.com
127.0.0.1 ads.mindsetnetwork.com
127.0.0.1 ads.mircx.com
127.0.0.1 ads.msn.com
127.0.0.1 ads.newsint.co.uk
127.0.0.1 ads.newtimes.com
127.0.0.1 ads.nypost.com
127.0.0.1 ads.nytimes.com
127.0.0.1 ads.pennyweb.com
127.0.0.1 ads.pilotonline.com
127.0.0.1 ads.premiumnetwork.com
127.0.0.1 ads.realcities.com
127.0.0.1 ads.rondomondo.com
127.0.0.1 ads.telegraph.co.uk
127.0.0.1 ads.theglobeandmail.com
127.0.0.1 ads.tucows.com
127.0.0.1 ads.vnuemedia.com
127.0.0.1 ads.web.aol.com
127.0.0.1 ads.webcoretech.com
127.0.0.1 ads.websponsors.com
127.0.0.1 ads.x10.com
127.0.0.1 ads01.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads02.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads03.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads04.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads05.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads06.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads07.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads08.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads09.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads10.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads11.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads12.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads13.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads14.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads15.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads16.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads17.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads18.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads19.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ads1.advance.net
127.0.0.1 ads1.globeandmail.com
127.0.0.1 ads1.realcities.com
127.0.0.1 ads1.sptimes.com
127.0.0.1 ads1.theglobeandmail.com
127.0.0.1 ads1.virtumundo.com
127.0.0.1 ads1.zdnet.com
127.0.0.1 ads2.advance.net
127.0.0.1 ads2.realcities.com
127.0.0.1 ads2.virtumundo.com
127.0.0.1 ads2.zdnet.com
127.0.0.1 ads3.advance.net
127.0.0.1 ads3.realcities.com
127.0.0.1 ads3.virtumundo.com
127.0.0.1 ads3.zdnet.com
127.0.0.1 ads4.advance.net
127.0.0.1 ads4.clearchannel.com
127.0.0.1 ads4.realcities.com
127.0.0.1 ads4.virtumundo.com
127.0.0.1 ads5.advance.net
127.0.0.1 ads5.virtumundo.com
127.0.0.1 adserv.aip.org
127.0.0.1 adserver.airmiles.ca
127.0.0.1 adserver.matchcraft.com
127.0.0.1 adserver.thisislondon.co.uk
127.0.0.1 adserver.trader.ca
127.0.0.1 adserver.tribuneinteractive.com
127.0.0.1 adserver.ugo.com
127.0.0.1 adserver2.creative.com
127.0.0.1 adsrv.news.com.au
127.0.0.1 advert.bayarea.com
127.0.0.1 affiliate.aol.com
127.0.0.1 altfarm.mediaplex.com
127.0.0.1 banner.orb.net
127.0.0.1 banners.nextcard.com
127.0.0.1 campaigns.f2.com.au
127.0.0.1 click.go2net.com
127.0.0.1 click.linksynergy.com
127.0.0.1 clipserv.adclip.com
127.0.0.1 commerce.www.ibm.com
127.0.0.1 connect.247media.ads.link4ads.com
127.0.0.1 engage.speedera.net
127.0.0.1 espn.footprint.net
127.0.0.1 focusin.ads.targetnet.com
127.0.0.1 global.msads.net
127.0.0.1 gm.preferences.com
127.0.0.1 grfx.mp3.com
127.0.0.1 image.linkexchange.com
127.0.0.1 images.ads.fairfax.com.au
127.0.0.1 images.clickfinders.com
127.0.0.1 images.cybereps.com
127.0.0.1 images.emapadserver.com
127.0.0.1 impact.cossette-webpact.com
127.0.0.1 knight.economist.com
127.0.0.1 ln.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 m.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 m.tribalfusion.com
127.0.0.1 mds.centrport.net
127.0.0.1 media.fastclick.net
127.0.0.1 mojofarm.mediaplex.com
127.0.0.1 nb.netbreak.com.au
127.0.0.1 netcomm.spinbox.net
127.0.0.1 newads.cmpnet.com
127.0.0.1 nytadvertising.nytimes.com
127.0.0.1 oas.villagevoice.com
127.0.0.1 offers.impower.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad01.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad02.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad03.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad04.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad05.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad06.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad07.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad08.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad09.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad10.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad11.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad12.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad13.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad14.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad15.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad16.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad17.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad18.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad19.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ph-ad20.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 rd.yahoo.com
127.0.0.1 realmedia-a800.d4p.net
127.0.0.1 remotead.cnet.com
127.0.0.1 rmedia.boston.com
127.0.0.1 s0b.bluestreak.com
127.0.0.1 secure.webconnect.net
127.0.0.1 servads.aip.org
127.0.0.1 servedby.advertising.com
127.0.0.1 sfads.osdn.com
127.0.0.1 specialoffers.aol.com
127.0.0.1 st.valueclick.com
127.0.0.1 static.everyone.net
127.0.0.1 techreview.adbureau.net
127.0.0.1 techreview-images.adbureau.net
127.0.0.1 tmsads.tribune.com
127.0.0.1 transfer.go.com
127.0.0.1 us.a1.yimg.com
127.0.0.1 utils.mediageneral.com
127.0.0.1 view.avenuea.com
127.0.0.1 view.iballs.a1.avenuea.com
127.0.0.1 web1b.netreflector.com
127.0.0.1 www.3qqq.net
127.0.0.1 www.ad.tomshardware.com
127.0.0.1 www.adimages.beeb.com
127.0.0.1 www.adpepper.dk
127.0.0.1 www.burstnet.com
127.0.0.1 www.digimedia.com
127.0.0.1 www.fineclicks.com
127.0.0.1 www.focalex.com
127.0.0.1 www.guesstheview.com
127.0.0.1 www.hightrafficads.com
127.0.0.1 www.idealcasino.net
127.0.0.1 www.idirect.com
127.0.0.1 www.iwin.com
127.0.0.1 www.merchantapp.com
127.0.0.1 www.netpalnow.com
127.0.0.1 www.qksrv.net
127.0.0.1 www.speedyclick.com
127.0.0.1 www.treeloot.com
127.0.0.1 www.uproar.com
127.0.0.1 www.virtumundo.com
127.0.0.1 www.webcashvideos.com
127.0.0.1 www.websponsors.com
127.0.0.1 www.windaily.com
127.0.0.1 zdads.e-media.com
regards
Andrew Mottershead
Web Developer
Mindstream Web Design
email: [EMAIL REMOVED]
tel: +44 (0)1743 718262
fax: +44 (0) 7092 115513
web: www.mindstream.co.uk
This e-mail, and any attachment, is confidential. If you have received
it in error, please delete it from your system, do not use or disclose
the information in any way, and notify me immediately.
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> [EMAIL REMOVED] On Behalf Of Matt Keeble
> Sent: 05 July 2002 21:02
> To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> Subject: RE: FN-FORUM Pop up windows
>
>
> The problem with both those answers is that Adaware won't
> block popups on sites! It will only remove Adware bundled
> with free/shareware software (like Kazaa or RealAnything). As
> far as Opera goes, doesn't that mean that sites that use
> pop-ups legitimately (as information windows for example)
> won't work properly (I could be wrong as I am not an Opera
> user - apart from for testing ;o))
>
> To answer Carla's original question :- yes they piss us all
> off ;o) Personally, I will NOT have them on the sites I build
> (and bugger the client - let them get told by someone who
> know's what they're talking
> about) there are much more effective ways of advertising your
> site /on your site
>
> HTH
>
> Matt Keeble
> www.keebleconsulting.com
>
>
> ================================================================
> = Looking for a job? Try earning while you sleep! =
> = Call 01904-340916 or visit http://business.yorkedit.co.uk =
> = to get a fully set-up online business that runs itself. =
> ================================================================
>
> Sponsor the forum for as little as £1 at:
>
http://www.freelancers.net/cgi/sponsor.cgi?action=show
Freelancers and Freelance Jobs:
http://www.freelancers.net
Forum FAQs:
http://freelancers.netrickery.com
To unsubscribe please email:
[EMAIL REMOVED]
If you have difficulties unsubscribing please email:
[EMAIL REMOVED]
|
 |
|