|
|
 |
RE: FN-FORUM: New scam???
date posted 22nd August 2003 20:38
So, if this guy has actually supplied his real bank details what is to
stop someone from withdrawing money from his account. All they need is a
link to an open BACS Payment software package.
When my wife left me I found that going out quite a lot with my mates
and blowing lots of cash on beer and booty to help. Maybe I'll set up
some sort of crisis club for people suffering the same fate. Being
single isnt all that bad once you get used to it. Sometimes things can
get quite difficult such as having to make decisions and it took a few
attempts to get the hang of self-relief but it seems its like riding a
bike.
Erm, seems I'm waffling - erm...bye
-----Original Message-----
From: [EMAIL REMOVED] [EMAIL REMOVED] On Behalf Of
[EMAIL REMOVED]
Sent: 22 August 2003 20:51
To: FN-FORUM / [EMAIL REMOVED]
Subject: Re: FN-FORUM: New scam???
>
> Yeah. I got it too.
>
> Seemed to be a legit email address so I reported it to his ISPs abuse
> address [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> May be true, and I'm sorry his wife left him. But begging for money
> from complete strangers is just not on.
>
> When my wife walked out on me after a mere 6.5 months I just dealt
> with it, not impose my grief and upset on random people in the street.
>
> And there are plenty of people and institutions who *would* be willing
> to help sort his life out. Maybe if he just explained his situation to
> his creditors he could sort a repayment holiday out and save his
> house. I--and every one else he spammed--owe him nothing.
>
> It's the electronic equivalent of begger-muggers accosting you in the
> street asking for spare change. I give to Big Issue sellers because
> they are *trying* to help themselves, and regular amounts to organised
> charities, but people just asking in the street get no sympathy from
> me.
>
> Guess I'm just getting hard and cynical in my old age.
>
> --
No, you're right - whether it's true or not is beside the point - how
are we supposed to know whether it's true? There are so many scams
around, and this just sounds like another, so we would be pretty foolish
to just send money to the guy - I think everyone would agree on that.
==========
redmail.com - webmail with a difference!
10Mb for just GBP 9.99 a year. Launch special 1Gb for GBP 99.99 a year
IMAP, POP3, Spam Filtering and Anti Virus as standard. Visit
http://www.redmail.com/?fl-signup to join.
To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
|
 |
|