|
|
 |
Re: FN-FORUM: UK based spam muppets
date posted 1st December 2003 16:50
Hi Alan,
Thanks for the info.
This report on silicon.com (http://tinyurl.com/x7zn) indicates that its Dec
11th 2003 when UK companies require the recipient be an existing customer or
has given their permission to receive such material.
I can't find any links re "since last month for individuals" - is there any
further reading anyone could recommend?
Cheers,
Iain
----- Original Message -----
From: "Alan Sheppard" [EMAIL REMOVED]
To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
Sent: Monday, December 01, 2003 4:50 PM
Subject: RE: FN-FORUM: UK based spam muppets
>
> Iain
>
> In the UK it depends on if the email address used is a company one or an
individual personal one.
>
> If the former, then you have virtually no rights to protect yourself
unless you explicitly tell Gary (in writing I think) to
> remove you and your companies addresses from his mailing list.
>
> By definition this means each mailing list he buys in or gets a third
party to send MUST be checked against companies and
> individuals that have asked to be removed. If he persists then you can get
him done under the DPA.
>
> Once you've told him to stop sending unsolicited mail/contacts, HE is
responsible for breaches, no matter who he uses/employs
> to carry out his marketing.
>
> Also, if he's passing personal data outside the EU borders he's probably
breaking EU data protection laws irrespective of SPAM
> so using offshore mailing companies is no protection either.
>
> AFAIK since last month for individuals he MUST be able to show active
consent to be mailed, contacted and/or an existing
> on-going business relationship with you as a customer, otherwise he is
probably breaking the law.
>
> HTH
>
> Alan S
>
> On 01 December 2003 16:20, Iain Bruce [EMAIL REMOVED]
wrote:
> >
> > Lo all,
> >
> > I've just been spammed by [EMAIL REMOVED] to a mail address that
is so
> > very NOT on any mailing lists. Foolishly, this plank links to his
website in
> > his quality spam, where there's a contact number.
> >
> > Imagine his surprise when I called and expressed my love for the spam
just
> > received.
> >
> > He quickly stated that the email address was obtained from a company
called
> > www.fxstyle.net, who unfortunately don't have a contact number.
> >
> > My question is: Gary spammed me from a UK company (for web design
services,
> > doh!), is Gary liable for anything apart from abuse?
> >
> > Suggested options for giving Gary what he deserves?
> >
> > /me hates dumb spammers based in the UK who have a telephone number
handy...
> >
> > TIA,
> >
> > iain
> > www.bspin.co.uk
> >
> >
> > --
> > * The Web Design Business Kit *
> > Find out how to price your work, market your business, make pitches
> > that get the client, write effective proposals and beat the competition
> > into the ground. Download 4 free sample chapters.
> > http://sitepoint.com/launch/b7c91e/
> >
> > To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
> >
> >
> --
> * The Web Design Business Kit *
> Find out how to price your work, market your business, make pitches
> that get the client, write effective proposals and beat the competition
> into the ground. Download 4 free sample chapters.
> http://sitepoint.com/launch/b7c91e/
>
> To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
>
> |
 |
|