|
|
 |
Re: FN-FORUM: Email marketing - Is this legal?
date posted 16th August 2004 11:22
First thing to do is to read the user licence that you must have agreed to
abide by with the DTi. This should state the conditions that are to be
observed in contacting the e-mail contacts. Secondly, if you are able to
e-mail the group, take a look at the domain names that are within the e-mail
addresses, if many are AOL, Yahoo, hotmail etc you will need to not only
have a html creative but also a plain text version. The best way to send
this would be in multipart mime format so that the correct version is
dispatched to the recipient. Follow the e-mail legal send procedures
including an unsubscribe option and a link to your privacy policy.
Finally, you might want to get whitelisted with some of the ISPs prior to
send.
If you need any further help please let me know, we can assist with the send
if you would like.
Regards
Andy Connor
http://www.wizzmail.co.uk
m: 07974 666456
t: 0870 066 0005 (National rate)
f: 0871 433 8359 (National rate)
----- Original Message -----
From: "Kalagoo.Com" [EMAIL REMOVED]
To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
Sent: Monday, August 16, 2004 11:18 AM
Subject: FN-FORUM: Email marketing - Is this legal?
>
> Hi,
>
> I have a purchased DTi CD containing about 70'000 company details which I
am
> going to import into my own database. Amongst this data, I have about
15-20k
> email addresses. I want to email a simple message to those addresses
telling
> them about a newsletter and inviting them to join up by clicking a link in
> the email - Effectively 'soliciting' to signup. The newsletter is on-topic
> for the list. My question is basically, is it legal to do this in the UK -
> Obviously if the link in the email is not clicked, there will be no
further
> emails.
>
> Would appreciate advice from anyone who knows the legality or has done
this
> sort of thing before.
>
> TIA,
> Paul.
>
>
> --
> Freelancers, contractors earn more with Prosperity4
> Call 0870 870 4414 or visit www.prosperity4.com
> and benefit from Inland Revenue approved expenses today.
>
> To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
>
> |
 |
|