Freelancers Network
 
skill list top cap
Homepage
Join the Freelancer's Network
Update your details
Find a freelancer
Post a project
Find a project
Projects Archive
Post a job
Find a job
Jobs Archive
See Dan's Pages
See Andy's Pages
Link to this site
Resources
Join/Leave Forum
Forum Messages
+Additions+ Adverts
Advertising
Contact Us
Subscribe to our newsletter - enter your email address and hit return
Freelancers.net is owned and operated by Andy Stowell and Dan Winchester
skill list end cap
guru web hostcom

Find me again on Freelancers.net

Re: FN-FORUM: Emails being sent out getting filtered as spam

date posted 30th August 2005 17:04

What happens if you are the main recipient or a cc, not bcc?

Can't the client just whitelist it?

An SPF record is part of DNS that says which hosts are allowed to send mail
for the domain legitimately.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Kathy
http://www.vendetta.co.uk
+44(0)7005 982 261
DNRC Minister for Useful but Irritating Information and Trivia
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
----- Original Message -----
From: "Paul Cooper" [EMAIL REMOVED]
To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
Sent: Tuesday, August 30, 2005 4:58 PM
Subject: Re: FN-FORUM: Emails being sent out getting filtered as spam



>Do you know what your filtering rules are ?

I don't have any rules that would affect this. I just right click
spam as it comes in and it normally ends up working.

>What happens if you send the exact same content from your normal email
client?

This works fine.

>Does your client's mail application mark it as spam?

It's a client's client so I'm not sure. I guess if I can stop it
going in my junk email folder on my set-up it will work for the end
client.

>Are you sending HTML as plain text?

The site sends out various messages and both go to my junk mail

> Do your emails contain stuff like 'Buy V1aGra. Veerryyy Chheeeep' ? ;)

lol

>What is the subject line?

Thank you for your registration for the Rimonabant Virtual Press Office

>Does the domain have and SPF record that includes the webserver?

No idea what this means. Norman are you here? You can guess which
site this is.

>How many recipients do they go to?

Just one and a bcc to me.

>Are the recipients in the to line?

Yes

>What email client? What spam filter?

Just outlook. No spam filter.

>You don't mention if it's a third-part host that manages mail servers.

Don't know much about the set up. When I used to use ASPMail I'd add
the SMTP server. Now I don't since using CDO. I guess I'm best off
talking to the hosting company.

Paul

--
Freelancers, contractors earn more with Prosperity4
Call 0870 870 4414 or visit www.prosperity4.com
and benefit from Inland Revenue approved expenses today.

To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html



Messages by Day
August 31st 2005
August 30th 2005
August 29th 2005
August 28th 2005
August 27th 2005
August 26th 2005
August 25th 2005
August 24th 2005
August 23rd 2005
August 22nd 2005
August 21st 2005
August 20th 2005
August 19th 2005
August 18th 2005
August 17th 2005
August 16th 2005
August 15th 2005
August 14th 2005
August 13th 2005
August 12th 2005
August 11th 2005
August 10th 2005
August 9th 2005
August 8th 2005
August 7th 2005
August 6th 2005
August 5th 2005
August 4th 2005
August 3rd 2005
August 2nd 2005
August 1st 2005


Messages by Month
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
March 2005
January 2005


Messages by Year
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000