|
|
 |
RE: FN-FORUM: Someone is using my email address for spam purposes
date posted 30th April 2007 12:39
Just to clarify this, an SPF record does NOT stop people sending spam using
your domain. It simply provides a mechanism where by a receiving mail server
that checks the SPF record (Many don't) can make sure that the mail was sent
from the SPF records authorised IP addresses.
Most servers unless configured to check SPF will not check it and even if
they do check SPF they may not act on the result.
Setting SPF IS a good thing and will hopefully have some impact but you
might be better off sending your subscribers a quick email telling them that
your domain is being used by spammers, that there is nothing you can do
about it, apologise and say hopefully it will stop soon.
Regards
Sam Morgan
WiredEyes Media / ServWise Advanced Hosting
tel (Uk): +44 (0)20 7100 2178
tel (Italy): +39 070 773 6543
web : www.wiredeyes.com / www.servwise.com
----
umop ap!sdn w,! aw dlaH
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL REMOVED] [EMAIL REMOVED] On Behalf Of Tom
> Miller
> Sent: Monday, April 30, 2007 12:54 PM
> To: FN-FORUM / [EMAIL REMOVED]
> Subject: Re: FN-FORUM: Someone is using my email address for spam
> purposes
>
>
> Hi Gina,
>
> To ensure this doesn't happen, setup a SPF record for your domain. SPF
> is the Send Policy Framework, and it basically ties your outgoing email
> to a specified smtp server.
>
> Any mail coming from your domain that DOESN'T come from this smtp
> server
> will be classed as spam by virtually all spam filters.
>
> More info is here:
> http://www.openspf.org/
>
> Hope that helps,
>
>
> Tom.
>
>
> [EMAIL REMOVED] wrote:
> > Hi....
> >
> >
> > We have a project website running alongside our design agency, which
> is a
> > website for women in sport. Our email addresses are set to the same
> as the
> > domain name. [EMAIL REMOVED]
> >
> > Somebody is using my email address in particular and other email
> addresses
> > @domain.com to send out spam email. Because we have a large database
> of
> > subscribers to the website, those also seem to be receiving spam and
> it says
> > it comes from our domain.
> >
> > Of course we don't send out spam email, but I need to sort this asap
> because
> > otherwise it'll give us a bad name. Who do I approach? The domain
> name
> > provider? The server providers?
> >
> > And how the heck did this happen....??? Does anyone have any ideas, I
> would
> > really appreciate some input if there is somebody out there who
> knows!!!
> >
> > Many thanks in advance
> >
> > Gina
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>
> --
> Tom Miller - Web Designer & Developer
> www.tgmweb.co.uk
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
> t: 020 719 33777
> m: 07813 640042
>
> "When weeding, the best way to make sure you are removing a weed and
> not a valuable plant is to pull on it. If it comes out of the ground
> easily, it is a valuable plant."
>
>
>
>
> --
> Freelancers, contractors earn more with Prosperity4
> Call 0870 870 4414 or visit www.prosperity4.com
> and benefit from Inland Revenue approved expenses today.
>
> To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
>
> |
 |
|