|
|
 |
RE: FN-FORUM: Windows Live Messenger virus
date posted 21st January 2008 17:12
I get links sent to me and I always ask the person sending them what they
are, had one the other day and asked my mate what she was sending and she
didn't even know it was sending me anything.
Messenger is very good, but it encourages you to go to sites like
smileycentral to download smilie faces, this is the worst web site for bugs
and virus's
My two pennys worth
Pam Gould
Gouldsmiths - Freelance web designer
www.gouldsmiths.co.uk
[EMAIL REMOVED]
-----Original Message-----
From: [EMAIL REMOVED] [EMAIL REMOVED] On Behalf Of Steve Hill
Sent: 21 January 2008 17:59
To: FN-FORUM / [EMAIL REMOVED]
Subject: RE: FN-FORUM: Windows Live Messenger virus
Hi Phil,
Thanks for the info.. Very useful, I use MSN a lot.
Cheers,
Steve
-----Original Message-----
From: [EMAIL REMOVED] [EMAIL REMOVED] On Behalf Of
[EMAIL REMOVED]
Sent: 21 January 2008 17:47
To: FN-FORUM / [EMAIL REMOVED]
Subject: FN-FORUM: Windows Live Messenger virus
I wouldn't usually mention a potential virus, but this one seemed rather
sneaky and wasn't picked up by AVG.
I had one of my Messenger contacts say this to me earlier:
Jo says:
Hey, is this your picture?
[EMAIL REMOVED]
(protocol edited for safety's sake)
- I downloaded the "image" and renamed it to JPG, but it didn't work. Later
I got the same message from that contact and noticed she wasn't replying to
me when I typed back to her (like I did the first time). Anyway, turns out
it's a virus... http://tech.firdooze.com/
I'm just glad I didn't run the .com file.
Phil
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.5.516 / Virus Database: 269.19.8/1235 - Release Date: 21/01/2008
09:39
--
Freelancers, contractors earn more with Prosperity4
Call 0870 870 4414 or visit www.prosperity4.com
and benefit from Inland Revenue approved expenses today.
To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
--
Freelancers, contractors earn more with Prosperity4
Call 0870 870 4414 or visit www.prosperity4.com
and benefit from Inland Revenue approved expenses today.
To advertise here: http://www.freelancers.net/advertising.html
|
 |
|