Freelancers Network
 
skill list top cap
Homepage
Join the Freelancer's Network
Update your details
Find a freelancer
Post a project
Find a project
Projects Archive
Post a job
Find a job
Jobs Archive
See Dan's Pages
See Andy's Pages
Link to this site
Resources
Join/Leave Forum
Forum Messages
+Additions+ Adverts
Advertising
Contact Us
Subscribe to our newsletter - enter your email address and hit return
Freelancers.net is owned and operated by Andy Stowell and Dan Winchester
skill list end cap
guru web hostcom

Find me again on Freelancers.net

Re: FN-FORUM: OT: Your help is desperately needed

date posted 11th February 2008 18:26

Adam Reynolds wrote:
>
>
>
> Dom Latter wrote:
>> On Monday 11 February 2008 15:40:48 Adam Reynolds wrote:
>>
>>> A scam I think. Please prove me wrong.
>>>
>>
>> Steven's been posting here for a while. A quick scan of his posts
>> shows him
>> contributing answers as well asking for advice. So I figure it for a
>> genuine post from a list member, and some sympathy is in order, even
>> if you think
>> that soliciting for financial contributions is an inappropriate use
>> of the list.
>>
>>
> The problem is as much the url he provided. You'll notice
> www.beyonds.com embedded inside it which is basically a search landing
> page. If somebody genuinely had such an appeal going, then I'd expect
> something of a page on a reputable website. To go directly to a paypal
> payment page with this url embedded into the url is not good.
>
> For reference here it is:
> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_donations&business=paypal%40beyondss%2ecom&item_name=Help%20Darina%20beat%20Cancer&page_style=PayPal&no_shipping=1&return=http%3a%2f%2fwww%2ebeyondss%2ecom%2fppsuccess%2ephp&no_note=1&tax=0¤cy_code=GBP&lc=GB&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF&charset=UTF%2d8
>
>
> So yes, this is as far as I can determine still a scam. I may be wrong
> but nothing so far indicates otherwise and remember that this sort of
> scam needs a tragic element to it to stop you looking too deeply.
>
> Adam
>
>
Adam, and everyone who thinks that this is a scam.

Not everything sent via email asking for donations is a scam. I used the
standard Paypal donation link as I needed the link up and running as
quickly as possible, I see nothing wrong with using the standard paypal
link as that is what it is used for, is it not? I do not feel that I
have to justify my actions. However, I posted this message to the forum,
to ask my peers for some assistance, is that wrong? I do not think so,
If you do not wish assist, or can only come up with some sarcastic
comment, then please do not respond. I am not having a great time at the
moment as it is. As I use this forum quite a bit, do you honestly think
that I would make something like this up?

As for the domain. I inadvertently selected the wrong option when I
registered the domain, and as yet have not got around to changing it.
The under construction page was put there because, as I have been busy
with clients sites and other development work, I have yet to develop my
own site.

Best Regards,

Steve



Messages by Day
February 29th 2008
February 28th 2008
February 27th 2008
February 26th 2008
February 25th 2008
February 24th 2008
February 23rd 2008
February 22nd 2008
February 21st 2008
February 20th 2008
February 19th 2008
February 18th 2008
February 17th 2008
February 16th 2008
February 15th 2008
February 14th 2008
February 13th 2008
February 12th 2008
February 11th 2008
February 10th 2008
February 9th 2008
February 8th 2008
February 7th 2008
February 6th 2008
February 5th 2008
February 4th 2008
February 3rd 2008
February 2nd 2008
February 1st 2008


Messages by Month
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008


Messages by Year
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000